Return to Headlines

USDE Names Kerr a Blue Ribbon School


26 Texas schools receive 2016 national Blue Ribbon honors


AUSTIN – Earlier this year, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) nominated 26 Texas public schools for national 2016 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition.


Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels.


The U.S. Department of Education announced today that the 26 schools nominated by TEA have been awarded Blue Ribbon honors for 2016. The schools in Texas include the following:


  • Alief ISD – Alief Early College High School
  • Alief ISD – Kerr High School
  • Azle ISD – Cross Timbers Elementary School
  • Belton ISD – Leon Heights Elementary School
  • Bishop CISD – Petronila Elementary School
  • Borden County ISD – Borden County School
  • Brownsville ISD – Brownsville Early College High School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Rosemeade Elementary School
  • Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey International Academy
  • Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey Montessori Vanguard
  • Dallas ISD – School of Health Professions at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center
  • Edinburg CISD – Canterbury Elementary School
  • Edinburg CISD – Norma Linda Trevino Elementary School
  • Fort Worth ISD – Young Women’s Leadership Academy
  • Garland ISD – Hillside Academy for Excellence
  • Houston ISD – Lovett Elementary School
  • Houston ISD – Oak Forest Elementary School
  • Lubbock ISD – Margaret Talkington School For Young Women Leaders
  • Malakoff – Tool Elementary School
  • Miles ISD – Miles Elementary School
  • Panhandle ISD – Panhandle Elementary School
  • Pittsburg ISD – Pittsburg Intermediate School
  • United ISD (Laredo) – Trautmann Elementary School
  • Van Vleck ISD – Van Vleck Elementary School
  • Vista Del Futuro Charter School – Vista Del Futuro Charter School (El Paso)
  • Whitehouse ISD – Gus Winston Cain Elementary School

“I congratulate the teachers, administrators and staff members at each of these nationally recognized campuses in Texas,” said Commissioner of Education Mike Morath. “A strong commitment to successful student outcomes is evident throughout the school year at every National Blue Ribbon campus, past and present, across our state.”


All schools were selected as exemplary high performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 25 percent or greater.


The schools completed a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C.


For more information about the national Blue Ribbon Schools program, visit the U.S. Department of Education’s website at